AIFRTE 4th National Council gives a national call “WTO-GATS Quit India – India is not for Sale”

June 23, 2015

The 4th National Council Meeting of the All India Forum for Right to Education (AIFRTE) was held from 14th June to 16th June, 2015 at the historic Gandhi Ashram, Sewagram, Wardha, Maharashtra.

The National Council attended by the representatives of various organizations from 23 states and 2 Union Territories discussed the current tide of Communalization and Commercialization of Education in India.

Presidium Members Prof Anil Sadgopal, Prof, Haragopal, Prof. Madhu Prasad, Dr. Anand Teltumbde, Prof. Chakradhar Rao and the organizing secretary Shri. Ramesh Patnaik chaired various sessions in the three day deliberations.

The Nation Council Meeting concluded with a call to intensify the struggle to oppose WTO-GATS and demand that the Government of India withdraws all offers given to WTO-GATS.

In December 2015, the heads of various states of world will meet at Nairobi to finalize the Doha round of WTO-GATS negotiations. If India does not withdraw the offers given to WTO-GATS forthwith and come out of the WTO-GATS regime, the sovereignty Of India will be lost and it will not only be a blow to the social Justice Program of India but it will also demolish the native knowledge.

All the Public funded institutions will be weakened and destroyed. The entire Education System will be thrown open to the Global Financial Capital.

Understanding clearly the danger of losing all the gains that we consistently fought for and achieved all through the 65 years of political Independence, AIFRTE calls for all the Patriotic forces to unit in the All India Struggle “WTO-GATS QUIT INDIA – India is not for sale!”, starting from 9th August, to oppose WTO-GATS and hold protests in various forms all over India and culminate in Delhi for a five day Resistance Campaign from 14th to 18th December, 2015.

People from every walk of life including Intellectuals, Writers, Artists, and Journalists will join hands with peasants, working class, teachers and students in this historic national uprising against WTO-GATS to save India’s sovereignty and social justice system.

AIFRTE Presidium

* Dr. Meher Engineer, West Bengal, Chairperson, AIFRTE; Ex-President,Indian Academy of Social Science; Kolkata
* Prof. Wasi Ahmed, Bihar, Former Joint Secretary, AIFUCTO; Patna
* Sri Prabhakar Arade, Maharashtra, President, AIFETO; Kolhapur
* Prof. G. Haragopal, Andhra Pradesh, National Fellow, ICSSR; TISS, Hyderabad
* Prof. Madhu Prasad, Delhi, Formerly Dept. of Philosophy, Zakir Husain College, Delhi University
* Prof. Anil Sadgopal, Madhya Pradesh, Former Dean, Faculty of Education, Delhi University; Bhopal
* Prof. K. Chakradhar Rao, Telengana, Dept. of Economics, Osmania University, Hyderabad
* Prof. K. M. Shrimali, Delhi, Formerly Dept. of History, Delhi University
* Dr. Anand Teltumbde, West Bengal, Professor of Management, IIT, Kharagpur