List of armed CPI(M) cadre (harmad) camps in the Jangalmahal region of West Bengal

September 7, 2010

September 7 2010

Lalgarh and adjoining areas of jangalmahal, the adivasi-populated districts of West Bengal, have been ravaged by the armed gangs of the ruling CPI(M), ever since their entry into the area was facilitated by the joint state and central security forces. Organized in a paramilitary manner, on the lines of the notorious Salwa Judum of Chattisgarh, and housed in numerous camps dotting the entire jangalmahal region, the armed CPI(M) cadres, called locally as harmads, have been raiding villages, burning and looting houses, killing people, raping women and working closely with the joint forces in tracking down and killing leaders of the PCAPA, all in the name of regaining lost territory in the Lalgarh area. Recruited from areas such as Keshpur and Garbeta and also Jharkhand, and under the direction of senior CPI(M) leaders, in the last few months they have styled themselves as “Mao daman sena” (Maoist suppression army). In the recent past, they are widely believed to have been involved in the Sonamukhi rapes, in the Jnaneshwari Express derailment and the killing of Umakanta Mahato, a leader of the PCAPA. Though numerous statements regarding the presence of these armed camps in the area have been made, including by the Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee, the home minister P Chiambaram, the governor of West Bengal M K Narayanan and in a report by the Intelligence Bureau of the central government, the West Bengal government has flatly denied the existence of such camps. Last week, a group of reporters who had gone to the area to investigate the presence of these camps, were beaten up and their camers destroyed by CPI(M) harmads.

Here for the first time we make public the list of harmad camps in jangalmahal, as on 5th August, 2010. More such camps have been set up in the last one month, as the harmads have advanced deeper into the area, and hundreds of people have fled from their villages. As the list shows, most of the camps have been set up in primary schools and in other government buildings including panchayat offices and Integrated Child Development Scheme (ICDS) centres.

In many cases the harmad camps have been set up adjoining the base camps of the security forces. It is quite clear that the West Bengal government is blatantly allowing the use of government infrastructure, and worse, educational institutions, for furthering the nefarious and destructive activities of the ruling CPI(M) party, and the harmads are being accorded protection and impunity by the joint state and central forces.

of CPI(M)

No. Name of village Number of Harmads Location

Goaltore block, West Medinipur

1. Patharpara 150 High school, primary school ( combined forces
base camp)
2. Santhargeria 20 Primary school
3. Amlachati Podabanali 100 Primary school
4. Dopati 20 Primary school
5. Chowrangi More 30

6. Singla 30 Junior high school
7. Bhedua 10 Prmary school
8. Chotonagdana 10 High school (upper floor of hostel)

9. Nischintapur

10. Keshia 20 Primary school
11. Amjore 15 Primary school
12. Komarpur 15 Primary school
13. Moyna 30 Primary school
14. Kanjimakli 30 Panchayat office
15. Thakurpara 10

16. Pidabandh 6

17. Hadimara

18. Kadma

19. Amlashuli

20. Goaltore 40 CPI(M) zonal committee office
21. Hatimashan

22. Keyamacha

CPI(M) party office
23. Dikunaji

24. Pingbani

25. Kharkanta Ukhla

Primary school
26. Jeerapara

Dhamcha primary school
27. Betjharia

Jeerapara panchayat office
28. Metla

Metla panchayat office
29. Andar Alia

CPI(M) branch committee office
30. Pakudiha

Primary school
31. Jamirashole

Primary school

Shalboni block, West Medinipur

32. Chatuni Paradiha 50 Primary school, at home of CPI(M) local
committee member (LCM) Bikash Ukil
33. Jatra Bishnupur

34. Dhangashole 20 Primary school
35. Retingshole 25 Primary school
36. Sitanathpur 50 High school, at home of MLA Khagen Mahato
37. Ashnashuli 15 Primary school
38. Kashijora 15 Panchayat office
39. Bhursha 10

40. Parulia 50

41. Baghpichla 70 Primary school


Panchayat office
43. Dakshinshole 150 Primary school
44. Moushole

High school (operation head-quarter)
45. Bhadutala 70 CPI(M) party office (combined forces base camp)
46. Shalboni 50 CPI(M) party office, Tushar Bhawan

Medinipur Sadar block, West Medinipur

47. Deluoa 150

48 Enayetpur

CPI(M) party office


50. Chandra 70 Local committee office
51. Kelemari 15 Integrated child development scheme (ICDS)
52. Bhatpara

53. Chandpur

54. Bhalukhutiya 30 Primary school, factory
55. Medinipur town

Jhargram block, West Medinipur

56. Chuntri 70 Private house
57. Agrashole 70 House of Prashanta Das
58. Pathri 70

59. Jhargram town

Two lodges in Bachurdoba

Jamboni block, West Medinipur

60. Dubra 40 Panchayat office and CPI(M) party office

Nayagram block, West Medinipur

61. Patina (Nakbadi)

62. Kalma (Pukuria)

Sankrail block, West Medinipur

63. Ragra

64. Baroda

65. Kultikri

Combined forces base camp

Belpahari block, West Medinipur

66. Dhenkia 30 Club
67. Kapat kanta 30 Primary school
68. Harda

Simlapal block, Bankura

69. Dubrajpur 30 Primary school
70. Bikrampur

Sarenga block, Bankura

71. Sarenga

CPI(M) zonal committee office
72. Bejdanga

Rahipur block, Bankura

73. Baksi

74. Dumurtore

75. Dhenko

Bandowan block, Purulia

76. Sarga 50 In the house of LCM Raghu Singh
77. Chirudi 40 CPI(M) party office
78. Bandowan 30

CPI(M) zonal committee office
79. Jhurigora 25 In the house of LCM Lakshmi Mahato

Balarampur block, Purulia

80. Market

81. Ghatbera 10 In the house of LCM Madhu Mandal

Arsha block, Purulia

82. Sundarpur

83. Kantadi

Barabazar block, Purulia

84. Berada

85. Barabazar

CPI(M) zonal committee office
86. Hanspur

In the house of LCM